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Banks, Savings Banks, and Savings & Loan Associations
The North Carolina Commissioner of Banks regulates banks, savings banks, and savings & loan associations under N.C.G.S. 53 et seq., 54B et seq., and 
54C et seq. The primary purpose of these statutes is to ensure the safe conduct of banking business within the state, to maintain the public’s confidence in the financial 
institutions, and to protect the institutions’ depositors, debtors, creditors, and shareholders. 
As of 06/30/2010 we regulated:

 69 Commercial Banks  3,341 branches  
 16 Savings Banks   63 branches 

 1 Savings and Loan Association 
 8 State Trust Companies 
0 Trust Representative Offices registered 

79 Loan production Offices registered 

As of  06/30/2010  86 state-chartered financial institutions reported:

Total Deposits $174,858,000,000 
Total Assets $236,219,000,000 
(Deposit and Asset figures above are for month ending 06/30/2010)

Bank Holding Companies and Savings Bank Holding Companies
The Bank Holding Company Act of 1984 (N.C.G.S. 53-225 et seq.) requires 
certain bank holding companies to register with the Commissioner of Banks.  
Companies that control NC federally or State-chartered banks, or companies that 
control any non-bank subsidiary having offices located in the State are subject to 
the registration requirements.  

As of  06/30/2010 we had:

 57
 44

 4

Bank Holding Companies registered 
Bank Holding Companies registered/regulated
Savings Bank Holding Companies registered/regulated

Consumer Finance 
The North Carolina Consumer Finance Act (N.C.G.S. 53-164 et seq.) authorizes 
the Commissioner of Banks to license and supervise small loan companies that 
make direct consumer loans of $10,000 or less and charge rates in excess of 
those permitted by Chapter 24. These lenders may choose to make loans as a 
General Lender (N.C.G.S. 53-173) or as an Optional Rate Lender (N.C.G.S. 
53-176). 

As of  06/30/2010 we had licensed: 
 6

 476
General Lenders (lend $3,000 or less) 
Optional Rate Lenders (lend $10,000 or less)

 482 Total Offices

Refund Anticipation Loans 
The Refund Anticipation Loan Act requires facilitators who make tax refund 
loans to register with the Commissioner of Banks. 

As of 06/30/2010 we had registered: 
 874 Refund Anticipation Lenders    1,847 Offices

Mortgage Lenders, Brokers, Servicers and Loan Officers 
The North Carolina Commissioner of Banks licenses all mortgage lenders, 
brokers, servicers, and loan officers under N.C.G.S. 53-243.01 et seq., unless 
exempt by statute. This statute became effective 7/01/2002, replacing the 
mortgage registration laws under Article 19 of Chapter 53. Registrants under 
the old law received “grandfathered” licenses during the first year. 

As of 06/30/2010 we had:

 336
 233

 6,888

Mortgage Lenders with 660 branches 
Mortgage Brokers with 69 branches 

Loan Officers

 45 Mortgage Servicers
Mortgage Exempt Companies  0

(includes 210 EMB's) 

Money Transmitters 
The Money Transmitters Act (N.C.G.S. 53-208.1 et seq.) provides that no 
one can sell or issue checks, drafts, money orders, or other instruments for 
the payment or transmission of money unless licensed by the Commissioner 
of Banks. 

As of 06/30/2010 we had:

 69 Money Transmitter Licensees 

Reverse Mortgages 
The Reverse Mortgage Act (N.C.G.S. 53-255 et seq.) authorizes the 
Commissioner of Banks to approve reverse mortgage lenders. Even though 
banks, savings institutions, and credit unions are exempt and do not have to 
obtain the Commissioner’s approval, nevertheless they must notify him of 
their intent to offer reverse mortgages. Reverse mortgages are available to 
homeowners over 62. They provide monthly loan advances which are repaid 
upon death or the sale of the house. 

As of 06/30/2010 we had:

17
32

Reverse Mortgage Lenders 
Exempt Lender

Trust Licensees 
Pursuant to N.C.G.S. 53-159.1, et seq., banks wishing to act in a fiduciary 
capacity must make application to the Commissioner of Banks for a license, and 
renew the license annually thereafter. Licenses are granted or renewed upon a 
determination of applicant’s solvency and receipt of a fee. 

As of 06/30/2010 we had:

 56 Trust Licensees

Check Cashing Businesses 
Under N.C.G.S. 53-275 et seq., persons or other entities providing 
check-cashing services for a fee, service charge, or other consideration must be 
licensed by the Commissioner of Banks. The law sets maximum fees for the 
check-cashing service.  

As of 06/30/2010 we had:

 371 Licensees         1,551 Locations 
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